GVSU's Audrey Koopsen Named 2008 GLIAC Women's Tennis "Player of the Year"

GVSU's Audrey Koopsen Named 2008 GLIAC Women's Tennis "Player of the Year"

Click here for printer-friendly (PDF) version of release

Michigan Tech's Zhilkina Named "Freshman of the Year," NU's Colestock Tabbed "Coach of the Year"

BAY CITY, Mich. -- Grand Valley State University senior Audrey Koopsen (Kalamazoo, Mich./Hackett) was named the 2008 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) women's tennis "Player of the Year" by the league's head coaches in all-conference balloting.

The coaches named Michigan Technological University rookie Victoria Zhilkina (St. Petersburg, Russia) the conference's "Freshman of the Year," while Zane Colestock, head coach of the Northwood University women's tennis team, was tabbed the "Coach of the Year."

Koopsen posted an 8-5 overall record at singles this season, including a 6-4 mark in dual play (all at No. 1 singles). She was also 6-3 in GLIAC play. In doubles competition, she split time with Jaime Oppenlander and Maria Gassanova. She posted a 6-2 record with Gassanova and a 4-3 mark with Oppenlander. She was 6-3 in GLIAC competition, including a 4-1 mark while paired with Gassanova. She helped GVSU to a 10-2 overall record, including an 8-1 regular season record. She was named the 2007-08 ITA Great Lakes Region Player to Watch.

Zhilkina went a combined 22-1 in singles and doubles for Michigan Tech as a rookie. The St. Petersburg, Russia, native posted a 10-1 No. 1 singles record and a perfect 12-0 doubles slate at No. 2. Her only loss was a 7-6, 6-2 setback to Northwood University's Darina Berkova.

Colestock led Northwood to its sixth straight GLIAC Championship over the weekend, guiding Northwood to a perfect 12-0 record in the fall. The Timberwolves went 45-9 (.833) in GLIAC singles play and 25-2 (.926) in conference doubles. Northwood also won both the singles and doubles crowns at the Wilson/ITA Great Lakes Regional Championships this fall. Now in his 34th season as a head coach at Northwood, Colestock has won a total of 650 career matches combined for his men's and women's career.

Joining Koopsen and Zhilkina on the 2008 All-GLIAC first team are: sophomore Darina Berkova and senior Ashley Neumann of Northwood University; sophomore Sharon Gill of Wayne State University; senior Sylvia Oliveros-Torres of Michigan Technological University; freshman Maria Gassanova of Grand Valley State University; and freshmen Victoria Goudy and Paola Orozco of Ashland University.

The 2008 All-GLIAC second team includes: senior Devin Games of Findlay; freshman Katelyn Schaffer and sophomore Darylann Trout of Grand Valley State; freshman Kristina Goranskaya of Wayne State; freshmen Roberta Huetter and Sabrina Kihm of Northwood University; sophomore Amy Ingle of Ferris State; senior Katie Hanover of Saginaw Valley State University; and freshman Ingrid Pflieger of Lake Superior State University.

2008 GLIAC All-Conference Teams


Darina Berkova - Northwood
Maria Gassanova - Grand Valley State
Sharon Gill - Wayne State
Victoria Goudy - Ashland
Audrey Koopsen - Grand Valley State
Ashley Neumann - Northwood
Silvia Oliveros-Torres - Michigan Tech
Paola Orozco - Ashland
Victoria Zhilkina - Michigan Tech


Devin Games - Findlay
Kristina Goranskaya - Wayne State
Katie Hanover - Saginaw Valley State
Roberta Huetter - Northwood
Amy Ingle - Ferris State
Sabrina Kihm - Northwood
Ingrid Pflieger - Lake Superior State
Katelyn Schaffer - Grand Valley State
Darylann Trout - Grand Valley State

Honorable Mention

Jennifer Bradford - Wayne State
Danielle Coldren - Saginaw Valley State
Paige Cooper - Ashland
Haley Dudon - Findlay
Ann Grant - Ferris State
Samantha Jang-Stewart - Michigan Tech
Chelsea Johnston - Grand Valley State
Weronika Lomacka - Lake Superior State
Teauana Long - Tiffin
Raphaela Perisic - Northwood
Jackie Shipman - Grand Valley State
Sara Tegner - Ashland