Ashland's Labry Named GLIAC Wrestler of the Year to Headline All-GLIAC Awards

Ashland's Labry Named GLIAC Wrestler of the Year to Headline All-GLIAC Awards

BAY CITY, Mich. - Ashland junior wrestler Michael Labry was selected 2014-15 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Wrestler of the Year after asserting his dominance as one of the top-ranked grapplers in NCAA Division II. 

Findlay true freshman Josh Wimer claimed GLIAC Freshman of the Year accolades while Lake Erie head coach Kevin Hogenboom received GLIAC Coach of the Year honors after the Storm collected its second straight GLIAC title.

Ashland's Michael Labry, who has amassed a 35-1 record with nine pins so far in 2014-15, is fourth in the country in this week's NCAA Most Dominant Wrestler standings. A two-time All-American and the second-ranked wrestler in the country at 133 pounds, Labry has 4.5 points, only trailing Colorado Mesa 157-pounder James Martinez (4.88), St. Cloud State 285-pounder Austin Goergen (4.63) and Central Oklahoma 165-pounder Chris Watson (4.59). Labry took home three GLIAC Wrestler of the Week awards this season. 

Findlay's Josh Wimer went 30-12 with eight pins during his freshman season. Wimer grasped the top prize at the ONU Invite and finished third at the Midwest Classic majoring then No. 6 Zach Shank from Western State in that tournament.  He also split with currently No. 7 nationally ranked Nick Crume (Indianapolis) and beat NAIA No. 1 ranked Mitch Pawlak (Indiana Tech).

The following are the 2014-15 All-GLIAC Wrestling First and Second Team selections:

Weight Class First Team Second Team
125 Forrest Glogouski (Lake Erie) Giuseppe Penzone (Tiffin)
133 Michael Labry (Ashland)* Josh Wimer (Findlay)^
141 Nick Boggs (Lake Erie) Michael Screptock (Tiffin)
149 Nick Goebel (Findlay) Jett Hurt (Tiffin) 
157 Zeb Beam (Ashland) Joey White (Findlay)
165 Matt Vandermeer (Lake Erie) Nicholas Skonieczny (Findlay)
174 Luke Cramer (Ashland) Jared Chambers (Tiffin)
184 Zev Green (Lake Erie) Kurt Schaefer (Ashland)
197 Evan Rosborough (Lake Erie) Jake Cramer (Tiffin)
285 Garrett Gray (Tiffin) Luke Fleming (Findlay)

* - GLIAC Wrestler of the Year
^ - GLIAC Freshman of the Year