Findlay's Showman Nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year

Findlay's Showman Nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year

Courtesy of David Buck, Findlay Assistant Athletic Director for Media Relations

FINDLAY, Ohio -- Pam Showman, who was a senior on the Oilers track team during the 2014-15 campaign, has been nominated for the prestigious NCAA Woman of the Year award.

Showman is the Oilers school record holder in both the heptathlon (5,058) and pentathlon (3,840). She has earned all-region honors seven times during her career and has been named a NCAA Division II All-American twice.  Showman has also been tabbed Academic All-Excellence three times during her career by the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC).

As a senior, Showman was named the 2015 GLIAC Field Athlete of the Year during the outdoor season. She captured a GLIAC championship in the pentathlon as well.

Now in its 25th year, the Woman of the Year award honors graduating female college athletes who have exhausted their eligibility and distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in academics, athletics, service and leadership.

Of the nominees, 207 competed in Division I, 93 competed in Division II and 180 competed in Division III athletics.

The NCAA encourages member schools to honor its top graduating female student-athletes each year by submitting their names for consideration for the Woman of the Year award. Then, conferences assess each nominee's eligibility and select up to two conference nominees. All conference nominees are forwarded to the Woman of the Year selection committee, which chooses the top 30 honorees – 10 from each division.

From the top 30, the selection committee determines the top three nominees from each division and announces the top nine finalists in September. The NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics then chooses from among those nine to determine the 2015 NCAA Woman of the Year.

The 2015 NCAA Woman of the Year winner will be announced, and the Top 30 honorees celebrated, at the annual award ceremony Oct. 18 in Indianapolis.