Northwood's Femonkov Earns GLIAC Men's Tennis Player & Freshman of the Year Honors

Northwood's Femonkov Earns GLIAC Men's Tennis Player & Freshman of the Year Honors

GLIAC - Northwood freshman Mikhail Fomenkov has been selected 2018 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Men's Tennis Player & Freshman of the Year by league coaches as announced by the conference office on Saturday (April 21). Wayne State's Bryan Morrow was voted Coach of the Year as voted on by his peers.

PLAYER & FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Mikhail Fomenkov - Northwood

Mikhail Fomenkov stepped right into the Northwood lineup in his freshman season and became one of the top players in the Midwest Region. He has gone 12-4 at No. 1 single for the Timberwolves while posting a 7-1 record in the GLIAC. Two of his four losses have come in third-set super tiebreakers.  The Moscow, Russia native also posted a 10-7 record at No. 1 doubles (5-3 GLIAC).  Fomenkov is the first NU player to earn GLIAC Player of Year since 2013 (Jean Menard) and the first to be named Freshman of the Year since 2011 (Valentin Bayle).

COACH OF THE YEAR: Bryan Morrow - Wayne State

Bryan Morrow, who is in his 10th season at Wayne State, was named GLIAC Men's Tennis Coach of the Year for the second time (first was 2010).  He guided his young Warriors squad (only one senior) to a 6-2 conference record and the No. 2 seed for the conference tournament, the highest seeding since 2013.  WSU had a 13-6 overall record against non-Division I schools, and concluded the regular-season ranked fifth in the Midwest Region.  Morrow has two singles players ranked nationally (Mats Westkamp at No. 54, and Griffin Mertz at No. 75), and one doubles tandem (Westkamp and Niklas Karcz at No. 40).

A complete list of the 2018 All-GLIAC Men's Tennis teams is below:

2018 All-GLIAC Men's Tennis Teams

First Team All-Conference

Name School Yr. Hometown/Previous
Sebastien Lescoulie Grand Valley State Jr. Carbondale, Ill.
Stew Sell Ferris State Jr. Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mikhail Fomenkov Northwood Fr. Moscow, Russia
Marc Lerch Davenport Sr. Barcelona, Spain
Jack Geissler Grand Valley State So. Joliet, Ill.
Mats Westkamp Wayne State So. Bonn, Germany
Niklas Karcz Wayne State Fr. Westphalia, Germany
Nur Iswan Ferris State Jr. Makassar, Indonesia
Luis Ludena Tiffin Sr. Tumero, Venezuela

Second Team All-Conference

Name School Yr. Hometown
Daniil Tarantinov Ferris State Sr. Moscow, Russia
Juan-Louis Van Antwerpen Davenport Fr. Johannesburg, South Africa
David Reinaurer Northwood Jr. Steinenbronn, Germany
Ulf Grosseloh Purdue Northwest So. Maximiliansau, Germany
Griffin Mertz Wayne State Jr. Farmington Hills, Mich.
Taylor Vane Wayne State Jr. Southampton, England
Santiago De La Rosa Tiffin Gr. Gijon, Spain
Kobus Sauerman Northwood Jr. Albertinia, South Africa
Pablo Munoz Baroja Ferris State So. San Sebastian, Spain

Honorable Mention Team

Name School Yr. Hometown/Previous
Matthew McClurg Davenport Jr. Belfast, Northern Ireland
Austin DeBruyne Ferris State So. Plantation, Fla.
Alex van de Steenoven Grand Valley State Sr. Rowville, Australia
Jake Prime Lake Superior State Sr. Doncaster, South Yorkshire, England
Mario Neto Michigan Tech Jr. Santos, Brazil
Francois Sauerman Northwood So. Albertinia, South Africa
Moritz Gisy Purdue Northwest Jr. Duesseldorf, Germany
Sorin Navrotchi Tiffin Sr. Moutfort, Luxembourg
Harvey Reed Wayne State Sr. Winchester, Hampshire, England