Michigan Tech's Monroe, Ashland's Davis Claim GLIAC Player of the Week Accolades Once Again

Michigan Tech's Monroe, Ashland's Davis Claim GLIAC Player of the Week Accolades Once Again

GLIAC -- The Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) has announced weekly men's basketball awards following Week 10 of the 2017-18 campaign. Michigan Tech sophomore forward Kyle Monroe earned GLIAC Men's Basketball North Division honors for the fourth time this year, while Ashland redshirt senior forward Wendell Davis captured South Division accolades for the seventh time this season.

NORTH PLAYER OF THE WEEK - Kyle Monroe, Michigan Tech

Michigan Tech junior forward Kyle Monroe averaged 36.0 points per contest and 7.0 rebounds while shooting 51 percent from the field including 53 percent from beyond the arc, while going 18-for-21 from the foul line. Monroe started the week with a career-high 41 points on 13-of-23 shooting from the field to go with eight rebounds in a 71-64 win for the Huskies. He then posted 31 points in a 77-66 win over Northern Michigan along with six rebounds and six assists. Monroe has scored 31 points or more seven times this season and leads the league in scoring by more than five points per contest (26.2), while sitting third in rebounds per contest (7.9).

SOUTH PLAYER OF THE WEEK - Wendell Davis, Ashland

Ashland redshirt senior forward Wendell Davis scored 27 points, on just nine field goal attempts, to go with four rebounds and five assists in 33 minutes of an 87-65 win over visiting Tiffin on Saturday. Davis shot 7-for-9 from the field, hit all five of his 3-pointers and went 8-for-9 from the free throw line in the victory. He ranks second in the GLIAC in scoring (21.0), seventh in rebounding (6.7), fourth in assists (3.8), seventh in field goal percentage (53.0), third in 3-point percentage (45.0) and seventh in free throw percentage (80.2). Davis leads the league in 3-pointers made (59). 


NORTH: Naba Echols (NMU), Zach Hankins (FSU), Ben Lubitz (GVSU), Akaemji Williams (LSSU)

SOUTH: George Spencer (WSU), Delano Smith (DU), Nick Spitzley (NU), Sebastiano Lamonato (SVSU)