January 8, 2015

Ohio Dominican's Mark Miller Named Jack H. McAvoy Award Recipient

Release Courtesy of Scott Miles, Ohio Dominican Assistant Athletic Director for Communications

BAY CITY, Mich. - Ohio Dominican senior quarterback Mark Miller (Cincinnati, Ohio) has been named recipient of the 2014 Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (GLIAC) Jack H. McAvoy Award, announced Thursday by Commissioner Dell Robinson.

The award is presented annually to the GLIAC football player who best combines outstanding character and leadership on the field, in the classroom, and in the community. 

Miller, a two-time captain, is the first Ohio Dominican student-athlete to win the award.

Off the field, Miller carries a 3.76 GPA in Middle Childhood Education and has been a member of the Dean's List every semester at ODU. This month, he will earn his fourth GLIAC Academic Excellence award, and picked up the 2013 GLIAC Commissioner's Award for his excellence in the classroom and on the playing field.

During his time at Ohio Dominican, Miller has performed over 100 hours of community service, including volunteering with the Second and Seven Foundation to read to children at local elementary schools, as well as meeting with military veterans at the VA Hospital.

Miller, who was a semifinalist for the NFF Campbell Trophy and a nominee for the AFCA Good Works Team, is a member of the President's Society at Ohio Dominican, a select group of students who represent the institution at university functions. He also serves as the student representative to the Board of Trustees.

On the field, Miller placed seventh in the Harlon Hill Trophy balloting for the nation's best Division II player. He compiled a 29-6 in his three years as a starter at ODU, throwing for 3,394 yards and 27 touchdowns this fall. He ranked amongst the nation's best in completion percentage as he completed 275-of-407 throws (67.6 percent) and he led the GLIAC with 261.1 yards per game.

Miller completed at least 60 percent of his throws in 12 of 13 games this fall and had four games with four or more touchdown passes.

In his career, Miller threw for 8,261 yards and 75 touchdowns, ranking second on ODU's all-time list in both categories. He also completed 65.9 percent of his passes in his career (645-of-979) and averaged 223.3 passing yards per game.

"Mark Miller portrays the outstanding character, leadership and integrity that the Jack H. McAvoy Award and Division II athletics represent," stated Commissioner Robinson. "The GLIAC is proud of the achievements of both Mark and his teammates after their NCAA Tournament run last fall."

The award is named for former Hillsdale College director of athletics and head football coach Jack McAvoy, who was instrumental in the founding of the Midwest Intercollegiate Football Conference (MIFC), now known as the GLIAC. It has been presented annually since 1996.

Jack H. McAvoy Award Winners

2014 Mark Miller, Ohio Dominican 2004 Neil Baumgartner, Saginaw Valley State
2013 Steven Embry, Hillsdale 2003 Josh Sherko, Northern Michigan
2012 Ryan Whittum, Northwood Scott Stuible, Northwood
2011 Josh Renel, Wayne State 2002 Jason Battershell, Saginaw Valley State


Phil Doerfler, Hillsdale

2001 Chris Volz, Indianapolis


Nick Bellanco, Ashland

2000 Alex Kowalski, Michigan Tech


Jake Visser, Ferris State

1999 Mo Harris, Ferris State


Mark Nicolet, Hillsdale

1998 Jeff Fox, Grand Valley State


Mike Klobucher, Ferris State

1997 Matt Fishburn, Wayne State


Matthew Shem, Northern Michigan

  Eric Tree, Michigan Tech



1996 Chris Pulliams, Ferris State