Grand Valley State's Potts Earns 2015 ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Team

Grand Valley State's Potts Earns 2015 ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Team

ABCA -- The American Baseball Coaches Association has announced the 2015 ABCA/Rawlings All-Americans, the ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove team and the ABCA/Rawlings Gold Bat Award as National Player of the Year for NCAA Div. II. Grand Valley State University's Jamie Potts was named to the ABCA/Rawlings Midwest Region Gold Glove Team.

Potts, an NCBWA All-Midwest Region First Team honoree last season, as well as a second-team recipient the year prior, ranks second on the team with a .369 batting average, 71 hits, 42 RBIs and third with 39 runs. The Ravenna, Michigan native was perfect in the field, tallying 109 putouts in as many attempts adding two assists. Potts, a senior outfielder, nabbed his second consecutive Daktronics, Inc. and ABCA/Rawlings All-Midwest Region First Team plaudits this season.

2015 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II Gold Glove Team
NCAA Div. II Gold Glove Team
Pos. Player Cl. School State
C Michael Jurgella Sr. St. Cloud State MN
1B Nick Pate Jr. Fresno Pacific CA
2B Dylan Cook Jr. Georgia College GA
3B Chris Dennis Sr. Florida Southern FL
SS John Ascenzia Sr. Bridgeport CT
OF Casey Scoggins Jr. Tampa FL
OF Jamie Potts Sr. Grand Valley State MI
OF Jason Morozowski Jr. Mount Olive NC
P Collin Sherrod Jr. St. Edwards TX
Defensive Player of the Year: Casey Scoggins, Jr., OF, Tampa

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now features nine divisions. The first ABCA NCAA Div. II All-America team was recognized in 1969. A full archive is available:

Established in 1945, the ABCA is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 6,600 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, Junior College, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 72nd annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 7-10, 2016 in Nashville, Tennessee.

The ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. III All-Americans and Gold Glove team were announced last Thursday. The full list can be found at this link: